#BlogTour The Scarecrow by Stewart Giles

Today I am very excited to be opening the blog tour for Stewart Giles newest Jason Smith book, The Scarecrow

About the Book

1 / 3

THE SCARECROW (Detective Jason Smith book 18)

From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes another brilliant addition to the Detective Jason Smith series

The Scarecrow (Detective Jason Smith #18) by Stewart Giles

How do you stop a psychopathic killer when they’re always one step ahead of you?

A new kind of murderer has caught the attention of the people of York. His attention is focused on the low-lifes and the bottom-feeders of society.

He calls himself The Scarecrow.

The citizens of York are calling him a hero – a killer ridding society of the undesirables, but Detective Jason Smith can’t accept this.

And when he finds himself first on the scene of this maniac’s first horrific murder, and sees for himself what this self-proclaimed deterrent to crime is capable of, he takes it upon himself to stop The Scarecrow at any cost.

But as the brutal murders continue, Smith finds himself wondering if this is a fight he can actually win.

The Scarecrow refuses to be stopped.

Is this the first killer Smith is unable to beat?

What readers are saying about WISHBONE

Classic Stewart Giles, an engrossing fast paced murder mystery.  This is no ordinary killer.  We have a dead man dressed as a scarecrow and a fake police officer!  The interesting saga/drama of Smith’s personal life continues.  I enjoyed the vivid descriptions of the crime scenes. Read it in one sitting and loved it!. – Carol

Every riveting chapter keeps you on the edge of your seat. Intense turmoil develops as surprising information comes to light leading to a shocking conclusion. THE SCARECROW IS A MUST READ!.– Eileen

It is a very easy to read book with a few red herrings and I really enjoyed it. The characters are easy to like too and it is great to have a bit of the family life of Jason and Erica as well. Would recommend it. – Maureen

2 / 3


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia

Book 16 – Wishbone

Book 17 – Ghosts

Book 18 – The Scarecrow

Book 1 – Blood on the Island
Book 2 – Lies on the Island

Book 3 – Fear on the Island

Book 4 – Malice on the Island

Book 5 – Revenge on the Island

Book 6 – Christmas on the Island

Book 7 – Silence on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl

Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

3 / 3


Horror – The Divide

Thriller – The Ghostwriter

Thriller – The Guests

My Review

As anyone who has followed my blog I am a huge fan of stewart and especially his Jason Smith books and always warn him not to do anything to Witton and Laura he will be in trouble and so far he has behaved. He seems to only want to hurt Jason himself throughout each book.

This is book 18 of the series, set in York, and is another great addition to the series.

This books starts off with a man being found dead dressed as a scarecrow with his hands and feet cut off. It turns out the dead man was a loan shark and a very nasty person so no one is unhappy he is dead.

Smith and the team have to investigate this serial killer and Smith also has to deal with his home life as he and Whitton are trying to adopt a girl who’s father died in the last book, whilst also looking after Laura and the two dogs.

Throughout the book the team try to work out the motive of this new killer and are drawn to the vigilante theory which means that the public are more sympathetic to him than in other books.

This is yet another superb book of Stewart’s and I really love the series and can’t wait for the next one to come out later in the year.

About the author

1 / 1

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.  

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.  

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.  

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.  

The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.  

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow with book 17 now available. In addition, I have a new series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey. The first 5 books in the Detective Liam O’Reilly series are now available. There are also 3 stand alone novels.  

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.