#BlogPost #BlogTour The Guests by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @Booksnall2020

Today I am on a rare blog tour but couldn’t turn down a chance to read and review Stewart Giles latest book The Guests, which was published last week.

About the Book

The Guests : They weren’t invited, and now they have to pay

How far would you go to keep a dream alive?

Henry and Rebecca Green worked their whole lives dreaming about a house by the sea. They thought the move to the idyllic town of Frisk would be the perfect retirement. The sea views and clement weather were exactly what they’d been looking forward to their whole lives.

But Mr and Mrs Green soon realise life in paradise isn’t as rosy as they thought. There are others who want what they have. They soon find out that all of the neighbouring houses are HomeFromHome weekend rentals and very soon the ideal retirement takes a turn for the worse when reality hits.

Against her husband’s advice, Rebecca Green hatches a plan to get even. It’s a plan so obscure and so out of the box, Henry doubts his wife’s sanity at first.

And the detectives who are brought in to investigate the series of murders at various HomeFromHome rentals are equally baffled.

My Review

I have been a massive fan of Stewart’s for the last 6 years and couldn’t wait to read this latest one

If you enjoyed The Beekeeper then you will love this one as it takes the premise but takes it up a couple of levels.

The book has enough humour mixed with murders and death to make it a very good dark comedy book with Stewart’s usual twists and bits of comedy to ensure you never know what is going to happen next.

The book follows the Green family as the parents move down to the New Forest to enjoy their retirement but don’t realise that most of the houses in their new village are rented out each weekend to stag dos and other noisy meetups with music blaring all weekend.

Very soon they have enough and their daughter, who is down for the weekend, goes to one of the parties to try and shut it down. She returns back to their house and shortly after the music stops.

The only trouble is the next morning the police come knocking and things have taken a turn for the worse for the family.

There are some nice little twists in the book and it is a case of whether the police will catch the murderer or not and how far people will go to when their peace and quiet is ruined every weekend and what lack of sleep will do to a person.

Overall it is another great read by Stewart and I loved it.

About the Author

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results. I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow with book 17 now available. In addition, I have a new series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey. The first 5 books in the Detective Liam O’Reilly series are now available. There are also 3 stand alone novels.

Website: http://www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.