#BlogTour #GuestPost The Abberley Beach Murders by D.E. White @dewhiteauthor @booksnall2020 @joffebooks

Tomorrow is publication day for D.E White latest book The Abberley Beach Murders and I am honoured to be hosting a guest post by her today in preparation for the launch tomorrow.

Firstly though let’s find out about the book itself.

About the Book

THE ABBERLEY BEACH MURDERS by D. E. White

THE ELECTRIFYING NEWEST NOVEL STARRING DETECTIVE DOVE MILSON.

Four dead.
One clinging to life.
Are they tragic accidents or is someone out to kill?

Detective Dove Milson is called out to a gruesome scene under the pier: four bodies floating in a flooded escape room. What really happened after midnight in room 6?

Then Dove discovers one of the dead was a person of interest in a cold case involving Olympian in-the-making Mickey Delaney. She was left for dead in an abandoned quarry and has been in a coma for five years.

What’s the connection between these cases and do they have anything to do with the attacks on the beach?

One thing is clear.

Dove’s in a dangerous game of cat and mouse and only one of them will escape with their life.

Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, K.L. Slater, Robert Bryndza, Helen Fields and Angela Marsons.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT D.E. WHITE:

“This mystery thriller novel is wrapped in loads of sinister suspense and will have you clambering to the edge of your seat . . . full of twists and turns you would never expect!” The Daily Mirror, on Glass Dolls

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “What a rollercoaster of a book!” Jacqueline

“I couldn’t stop reading, I had to know what happened next!” Amy

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “A very strong plot with twists and turns to keep you guessing along the way.” Michelle

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “Incredibly well-written with so many twists I finished it in less than a day.” Alyce

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “Without doubt this is the best thriller I have read this year so far.” Barbara

“A perfect read for a cold winter night. Just don’t expect to be able to put it down!” Victoria Dowd, award-winning author of The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder

“Another cracker of a book.” Aileen G.

“I was kept guessing all the way through. Gripping so gripping you won’t put it down.” ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Booklover BEV

“Thoroughly enjoyed this!” Nerys R.

DETECTIVE DOVE MILSON SERIES
Book 1: GLASS DOLLS
Book 2: THE ICE DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE ABBERLEY BEACH MURDERS

Guest Post

Writing the DC Dove Milson Crime Series


When I wrote Glass Dolls, I was out of contract with my publisher, and unsure really what I wanted to write. I knew it would be crime, but having written psychological thrillers, gangland and cosy crime it was a question of what the readers wanted.

In the end I fell back on writing the kind of book I wanted to read. The commercial pressure to write to current trends and to think hard if what you are producing will be a commercial success, is huge. If I’m honest, at that stage it was kind of getting in the way of my creativity.

As I wrote Glass Dolls I began to get the back stories of my characters, and the more I wrote, the more I felt this would be a series. There was/is a lot to say about Dove, about Ren and Gaia and their relationship.

And then there is Quinn, who has been stepping forward a bit more in The Ice Daughters and The Abberley Beach Murders. He is a very laid back character, in contrast to the skills required for his job, and I didn’t want to overlook the stability of his relationship with Dove.

After I had written The Ice Daughters, I knew the story arc was going to continue for more than three books, so I wrote the synopsis for three more, making it a six book series.

Each book can be read as a standalone, but character development can be followed more easily by reading the books in order.

Something I often get asked is why I gave my main characters such unusual/weird/random names. The answer is that Dove and her sisters were brought up on a slightly outdated hippy commune in California. Their parents are world travellers very influenced by nature, so it seemed reasonable to expect them to give their girls nature names.

I admit I didn’t consider the Dove/soap aspect, I was simply following the back story I had created. Ren carried on the name tradition with Eden and Delta, and Eden, in horrific circumstances, called her son Elan.

I have a massive wall chart filled with the characters and their back stories, and I do think, especially for a series, this is essential. If you are taking readers along for the ride, you must ensure the correct back story works for each character. As a reader, I notice if something dramatic has changed that perhaps shouldn’t have, in a series, so I would expect the same from the DC Dove Milson readers.

About the Author

D. E. WHITE

Daisy White started writing fifteen years ago, scribbling ideas on napkins at work on the night shift. After various jobs, including working as cabin crew, in a hospital, a supermarket, and as a 999 call handler for the ambulance service, she began writing full time in 2018.

She writes cosy crime as Daisy White, including the Amazon bestselling RUBY BAKER MYSTERIES (Joffe Books), and psychological thrillers as D.E. White; REMEMBER ME and THE FORGOTTEN CHILD (HarperCollins).
Her latest book, THE FORGOTTEN CHILD, was released on kindle, audiobook and paperback in October 2019, and charted at number 15 in the US Amazon Kindle Top 100. It has been described as ‘…an explosive gangland thriller.’
Daisy’s new police procedural, GLASS DOLLS, featuring DC Dove Wilson, was published by Joffe Books in 2020. She is also working on a new cosy crime series and another standalone psychological thriller.
Rep’d by Lina Langlee at the Kate Nash Literary Agency.
BOOKS BY D. E. WHITE
DETECTIVE RUBY BAKER SERIES:
• BEFORE I LEFT
• BEFORE I FOUND YOU
• BEFORE I TRUST YOU
DOVE MILSON SERIES:
• GLASS DOLLS
• THE ICE DAUGHTERS
• THE ABBERLEY BEACH MURDERS
FOLLOW D. E. WHITE ON
AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM
GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.