#BlogTour #Extract The Shadow Man by Mark Brownless. @markbrownless @zooloo2008

Today I am pleased to have been asked to host an extract for Mark Brownless’ new book The Shadow Man, which is published by Spellbound books and is now on my to be read list.

About the Book

First off let’s start with the book itself.

What if the memories of your childhood were a lie?
One Dream was all it took and all the memories of thirty years before started to flood back.
Not the idyllic coming of age summer down by the lake that they remembered. But dreams of death and of fear and of the burnings.
Dreams of the Shadow Man.
Will they finally face what had happened to them that summer?
Can they finally confront him once and for all?
The Shadow Man is the terrifying and utterly spine tingling new horror from the author of The Hand of Angel , perfect for fans of Alex North , CJ Tudor and Stephen Chbosky.

Book Extract

It appeared that four limbs were randomly scattered around a large pile of ash that had once been her body in the middle of the bed. The lower parts of her limbs were completely untouched by the fire, as was half of her white nylon nightie – the large blue flowers still clearly visible. The rest of the room seemed perfectly normal, with no sign of smoke or charring from the flames. How could such an intense fire have consumed her and done little elseso little damage to the room?
A blue-overalled figure walked in and instantly saw us gawping at the floor show. He was followed by a man in a cheap shiny suit – the kind you could see in Top Man or Burtons in town – he had a bushy moustache and thinning auburn hair combed over to the side of his head.
‘Oi!’ he shouted, but we were off, back across the lawn, through the hedge – much more quickly than on the way in – and into the park. We made a point of walking quietly toward the exit so as not to arouse suspicion, our hearts racing with the fear of being caught, although quite what we thought would happen even if they’d caught us I don’t know – it’s not like being nosey is a crime. As we left Old Lady Grimshaw’s garden behind, I could hear the voices of police officers in the garden, they were looking for us, and so once again we ran, sprinting through the park as if our lives depended on it, as if the officers had abandoned their investigations and decided to give chase to us, just for the hell of it. We hurdled the faecal trainer magnets and sprinted for the exit, turning a sharp right out of the gate and heading past Sowerby’s farm, running by the pond with Coopers Lane curving around it to the right and heading straight -on up the hill on Brewery Road – which always struck me as odd as there’d never been a brewery in the village as far as anyone knew. We didn’t stop until we’d cut through the back of the woods and ran run the mile or so to Clarabelle’s, still half expecting to hear the sound of approaching sirens. We sat on her low garden wall panting heavily, surrounded by a collection of planters and hanging baskets all lit-up with vibrant reds and blues, their heady scent making us feel queezy queasy as we tried to get our breath back, all red-faced, both exhilarated and revulsed at the same time.
‘Fuck. Did you see the state of her?’ Clarabelle was the first to say something.
‘Christ there were bits of her all over the place,’ said Katie.
‘No, there was just her on the bed.’
‘I know what I saw, Janey, her arms and legs were just scattered on the bed.’
‘No, there was just no middle bit.’
‘What?’
‘Her body was gone – that was the pile of ash – leaving all the rest as if her body had disappeared or something.’
‘And fire did that?’ I asked.
‘Yeah, what else?’ Janey was quite dismissive.
‘I meant, why didn’t the rest of the room go up – why just the middle bit of her? How can fire be so selective?’
‘Dunno, looked pretty fucking bizarre to me.’

About The Author

Mark Brownless lives and works in Carmarthen, West Wales, UK. He has been putting ideas on paper for some years now but only when the idea for THE HAND OF AN ANGEL came to him in the autumn of 2015 did he know he might be able to write a book. Mark likes to write about ordinary people being placed in extraordinary circumstances, is fascinated by unexplained phenomena, and enjoys merging thriller, science fiction and horror.


Mark’s new novel, The Shadow Man is a terrifying horror thriller imagining what would happen if you found out the memories of your childhood were untrue, and that something sinister was lurking behind the facade of your life. Could you face what had happened back then? Could you face The Shadow Man.


Mark is also fascinated by myths and legends such as those of Robin Hood and King Arthur. This has culminated in the release of his short story series, Locksley, a Robin Hood story.

Follow him at:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/markbrownlessauthor
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJgI_jjJAyOhCtuZTH7Vx8Q
Twitter: https://twitter.com/markbrownless

One thought on “#BlogTour #Extract The Shadow Man by Mark Brownless. @markbrownless @zooloo2008

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.