#BlogTour Motive by Stewart Giles @StewartGiles @Books_n_all #JasonSmith #13

Today I am extremely excited to be opening the blog tour for Stewart Giles latest Jason Smith book Motive, which is published today. Thanks to Stewart for writing it and Jill for telling me to open the tour. Extra special thanks to Stewart for the mention on page 1 as shown in this picture.

About the Book

MOTIVE (Detective Jason Smith #13) by Stewart Giles

From # 1 bestselling author, Stewart Giles comes a new detective Harriet Taylor/Jason Smith thriller.

In the week before Christmas, two people are brutally murdered in their homes. There is no sign of a struggle and both victims have had their throats slashed open. 

Detective Jason Smith is on holiday for the Christmas period, but he finds himself in the middle of the investigation before he knows it. 

There are no clues left at the murder scenes besides a bizarre series of numbers and letters left in random places – E.6.T.0.M. Smith and the team are baffled. What is the relevance of this ambiguous message? 

As the bodies start to pile up, and the tensions heat up within the team, Smith soon senses that someone in his team knows more about this than they are letting on. Is there a rat in their midst? And if so, who is it? And why is someone killing people without any obvious motive? In the most bizarre case of Smith’s career, will this be the murderer that finally beats him?


Book 0.5-Phobia
Book 1-Smith
Book 2-Boomerang
Book 3-Ladybird
Book 4-Occam’s Razor
Book 5-Harlequin
Book 6-Selene
Book 7-Horsemen
Book 8-Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye

Book 13 – Motive

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl

Medusa (coming soon)

The Divide

Blood on the Island

My Review

This is book 13 in Stewart’s amazing Jason Smith series and they keep getting better.

This time it’s Christmas again when Smith and Whitton are called into work whilst on leave.

They have been called in as a body has been found and the man had his throat slit.

Very soon more bodies keep turning up but the team struggle to find a link connecting the victims and also a motive to the killings as they appear to be totally random and no reason for the people to have been killed.

As usual with Stewart’s books someone very close to Smith will be put in mortal danger before the end of the book and Stewart is now walking a very fine line about what I will allow before going over to see him and have very stern words about how he treats his characters.

The book had me hooked from the very start and, just like Smith and his team, I couldn’t work out who did it or why until the very end, and if anyone says they worked it out I’d be extremely impressed.

I really love the way the team work together throughout the investigation even when Smith thinks that one of his team are involved, or at least know more than they are saying. This is one reason the Smith series works so well as Stewart isn’t afraid of breaking the team up or throwing things into the story line to make you think there is a mole within his tight team, whether real or just assumed.

I really love the Smith books and cannot wait for the next one to come out as the series keeps getting better with each book.

About the Author

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live. 

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later. 

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. 

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor. 

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019.  Medusa is coming soon

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye was published in February 2020.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

One thought on “#BlogTour Motive by Stewart Giles @StewartGiles @Books_n_all #JasonSmith #13

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.