#BlogTour Raven Girl by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @books_n_all #HarrietTaylor #JasonSmith #Crossover

Today I am extremely excited and a bit sad to be closing the blog tour for the final book featuring the cross over between two of Stewart Giles great characters, DC Harriet Taylor and DS Jason Smith. Thanks as always to Stewart for writing the book and Jill for organising the blog tour and asking me to be on it.

About the Book

THE RAVEN GIRL by Stewart Giles

From # 1 bestselling author, Stewart Giles comes a new detective Harriet Taylor/Jason Smith thriller.

The lives of the people in the charming Cornish village of Trotterdown are about to be shattered.

When the body of a man is discovered on a beach near Trotterdown, detective Harriet Taylor gets to work. It soon becomes clear that this was no ordinary murder – the man was placed in a yoga position and his pockets were filled with seashells.

As more bodies pile up, suspicion falls on the residents of the old Beekeeper’s house. Who are these New-Age youngsters and is their ‘peace and love’ philosophy merely a front to cover up something sinister?

Harriet and her team are stumped. Everywhere they turn seems to lead nowhere, and they soon believe these gruesome murders will remain unsolved forever.

Then Detective Sergeant Jason Smith receives a phone call that will change his life forever. Harriet’s DI calls and gives him some terrible news.
‘Harriet Taylor is dead.’

Smith must now make a choice. Harriet’s DI has asked for his help in the investigation that resulted in her grisly death, but does Smith really want to get involved in something that really does not concern him?

Against his better judgement and ignoring his wife’s pleas, Smith heads off to Trotterdown to see if he can find out what it was that Harriet failed to see, but when he eventually does uncover what it was Harriet discovered that culminated in her death, his own life is put at risk. Could this be the case that finishes off Smith for good?


Book 0.5-Phobia
Book 1-Smith
Book 2-Boomerang
Book 3-Ladybird
Book 4-Occam’s Razor
Book 5-Harlequin
Book 6-Selene
Book 7-Horsemen
Book 8-Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl

Medusa (coming soon)

The Divide

Blood on the Island

My Review

As anyone who has read my blog before knows I am a massive Stewart Giles fan and when I read the blurb for this book I knew I was going to be annoyed with Stewart as he has done something very silly by killing off one of his main characters who I love reading about. I’m hoping that as this is a cross over he can go back in time for Harriet to be reborn in her normal series as I loved her books as she hasn’t been given that long to shine properly yet.

Anyway onto the book. This one starts off in York with DS Jason Smith going out for a drink with Whitton when he receives the phone call informing him that one of his colleagues down in Trotterdown, Cornwall, has been killed and can he go and help close the case she was working on as she said he was the best police officer in the country.

The officer who has died is none other than the great DC Harriet Taylor so off we go down to Cornwall a couple of days prior to Smith getting the call to find out what Taylor was working on.

The majority of the book concentrates on Hilary and her team trying to find out why three people have been murdered on or near a beach within a day of each other and two of them were positioned in a yoga pose after they were killed.

During the investigation Hilary meets the new owner of the Beekeepers cottage, which was owned by the old lady back in book one of Hilary’s own series. The new owner turns out to be granddaughter of the old lady who is a hippy and has an open door policy for any other hippy to go and stay there.

Hilary befriends the granddaughter and gets very close to her during the case, even though she is one of the key suspects, which doesn’t go down well with her team.

When the key suspect commits suicide the team think the case is closed, but Hilary isn’t convinced and, against her superior officer’s advise carries on investigating, which causes her undoing and eventual death.

As the tension in the book builds to the murder of Hilary we find out a lot more about the locals who live around Trotterdown and some of the secrets they hide, but when Hilary is murdered it is still a shocking incident.

After her death we then jump back to Smith who has decided to help the team down south out and travels from York to Cornwall to find Hilary’s murderer.

As you would expect his arrival isn’t welcomed by all the team who think he is just there to take all the glory and mess up the investigation, but as they get to know him and the way he works they soon start to gel as a team.

Smith brings in a new perspective to the case and very soon the list of suspects is whittled down to a couple, with some very strong links to one of them

As with all of Stewart’s books there are lots of red herrings throughout and this one is no exception, although I did have my suspicions early on and was pretty sure I knew who did it and why. This didn’t take anything away from my enjoyment of the book as I was not 100% sure until the very end as you never know what the next twist in the story will bring.

Overall it is another great book from Stewart and I can’t wait to read the next Jason Smith book which is coming soon and puts Jason and everyone he loves in a lot more danger than ever before.

About the Author

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live. 

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later. 

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. 

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor. 

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019.  Medusa is coming soon

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye was published in February 2020.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.