#BlogTour Long Shadows by Derek Thompson @joffebooks @books_n_all

Today i am really pleased to have been asked to be on the blog tour for Derek’s new book Long Shadows, which is published by Joffe Books.

About the Book

A SECRET THAT WON’T STAY BURIED. A KILLER WHO CAN’T FORGET.

Detective Craig Wild couldn’t cut it in London. He swaps the Met for Mayberry, a sleepy Wiltshire backwater where ambition goes to die.

Then Wild is faced with the most baffling case of his career.

THIS IS HIS SECOND CHANCE

Eccentric farmer Alexander Porter is shot dead in his own field. Everyone assumes it was suicide. But Wild knows there’s more to it than that.

Determined to uncover the truth, he teams up with plucky PC Marnie Olsen. They set off on a twisting trail.

The first suspect is Nathan Porter, Alexander’s tearaway son. Wherever Nathan goes, trouble follows.

THEN SOMEONE ELSE DIES

Wild and Marnie must delve into the darkest corners of the family’s history if they are to uncover the truth.

Can they unmask the killer before Wild’s own chequered past catches up to him?

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, L.J. Ross, Angela Marsons, Peter May or Alex Gray.

My Review

I have been reading Derek’s books for a while have enjoyed them and this one is no different.

This book is a new series and features DS Craig Wild an officer who loves from the Met Police to a sleepy town in the middle of Wiltshire.

It takes him time to get used to the slow pace but he is soon investigating the suicide of a farmer shot dead in his field. DS Wild thinks differently and starts to investigate it as a murder with one of his new colleagues helping him.

This is a great start to what looks like a promising series and set the scene well with enough information given about DS Wild and his reasons for leaving the Met, plus how is settling in with his new team and new location and pace.

Overall this is a brilliant book and I really can’t wait to get stuck into this series and eagerly await book 2.

About the Author

DEREK THOMPSON
Derek Thompson grew up in London and started writing fiction in his teens. After spending a year in the US, he returned to London and subsequently moved to the West Country. He wrote a commissioned piece for The Guardian in 2008 and entered the world of freelance writing in 2009. His short fiction has featured in both British and American anthologies, and can be found online. He has also written comedy material for live performance and radio.
His love of film noir and thrillers began with The Big Sleep, and has never left him. Much of his fiction involves death, loss or secrets. As the saying goes: write about what you know. He writes about Thomas Bladen and his role in the Surveillance Support Unit.
BOOKS BY DEREK THOMPSON
THOMAS BLADEN SERIES
STANDPOINT
LINE OF SIGHT
CAUSE & EFFECT
SHADOW STATE
FLASHPOINT
SPY CHASER (BOOKS 1-3 BOX SET)

One thought on “#BlogTour Long Shadows by Derek Thompson @joffebooks @books_n_all

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.