#BlogTour The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd. @victoria_dowd @books_n_all @joffebooks

Today is my stop on the blog tour for The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd and also the final stop on the tour.

About the Book

A SMART WOMAN’S GUIDE TO MURDER

A GOLDEN AGE COUNTRY HOUSE MURDER MYSTERY BROUGHT BANG UP TO DATE
A faded country house in the middle of nowhere.
The guests are snowed in.
The murders begin.
Ursula Smart (not her real name) gate-crashes her mother’s book club at an isolated country house for a long weekend retreat. Joining them are Mother’s best friend, Mirabelle, Aunts Charlotte and Less, and Bridget with her dog Mr Bojangles. It doesn’t matter that they’ve read Gone Girl three times this year already. But someone has other ideas.
A body is found in the grounds.
Is a lone killer hunting them? Or has one of their own group embarked on a killing spree?
What they need is a guide to survive.
Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Anthony Horowitz, Liane Moriarty, Faith Martin, Frances Lloyd and Stuart Turton.



My Review

This is the first book I’ve read by Victoria and was a very good example of the cosy mansion mystery genre, made famous by Agatha Christie, and continued by Victoria.

The book follows a varied mix of women who all meet up for a book club retreat in an old mansion when tragedy hits and a dead body turns up on the grounds.

I really enjoyed the eclectic mix of characters, and the fact that they didn’t all get on made the story that much more believable because if you had a group of 6 at least two wouldn’t like each other and would clash.

The story was very well written and kept me engaged throughout as I tried to work out who the murderer was.

Even though it wasn’t the fastest paced book I’ve ever read and took a bit of time to get into due to the author setting the scene so well I really enjoyed it once everything kicked off and couldn’t work out who the murderer was until the end.

Overall a great book and thanks to Jill for bringing it to my attention.

About the Author

VICTORIA DOWD
After graduating from Cambridge, Victoria was a criminal law barrister on the London circuit for many years, where many of her cases were much stranger than fiction.
Victoria is now an award winning writer, having won the Go Gothic Short Story Award for 2019. She has had short fiction published in places such as Aesthetica: A Review of Contemporary Artists and was chosen as the runner up in The New Writer’s writer of the year award. Her work was Highly Commended by The Writers’ Forum and long-listed for The Willesden Herald International Short Story Competition. She has had short stories published in the BTS Literary and Arts Annual, Dream Catcher arts journal and Gold Dust Literary Magazine.
Victoria lives with her husband and two children. She writes full time, splitting her time between London and Devon, where she can indulge her passion for all things Agatha Christie.
BOOKS BY VICTORIA DOWD
ONE TO WATCH: NEW 2020 AUTHOR – BOOK RELEASE COMING SOON!
FIND VICTORIA ON
Author Website: https://victoriadowd.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/VictoriaDowdAuthor/
Twitter: @victoria_dowd https://twitter.com/victoria_dowd?lang=en
Instagram: @dowdvictoria https://www.instagram.com/dowdvictoria/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.