#BlogTour Deadeye by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @books_n_all #DSSmith #Book 12

Today I am very excited to be closing down the blog tour for Stewart Giles’ latest bestseller Deadeye, which is book 12 in his DS Jason Smith series.

About the Book

DEADEYE, Detective Jason Smith book 12 From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new addition to the popular Detective Jason Smith series. When a man is shot dead in a park not far from where Detective Jason Smith lives, Smith takes it personally.

The man was killed in a precise and cold manner.

Then, when another victim turns up – also killed with absolute precision, Smith realizes he’s on the trail of a killer who will stop at nothing.

Fighting against his team, Smith will have to dig harder than he’s ever dug before to stop the worst killer York has ever seen.

At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination.

DS Jason Smith is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures. However, he does get results.


Book 0.5-Phobia
Book 1-Smith
Book 2-Boomerang
Book 3-Ladybird
Book 4-Occam’s Razor
Book 5-Harlequin
Book 6-Selene
Book 7-Horsemen
Book 8-Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone


My Review

As anyone who is a regular reader of my blog will know I am a massive Stewart Giles fan, and his Jason Smith books in particular. I have read all of the Smith books and really enjoy the characters and team dynamic, although that has changed slightly after what happened in book 11.

This is book 12 in the series so I would highly suggest you read them in order, or at least a couple before starting this one, but it can be read as a standalone book if you want.

The book starts in usual dramatic circumstance, but this time Jason is very involved from the start as he is walking the dogs in the park when he hears screams. He runs over and finds a man has been shot in the head with lots of witnesses about, all of whom saw nothing.

As the team investigate this case the murderer kills more people, all of whom appear to be unrelated, making the case that much more serious and the team struggling to find any suspects.

As they work through all the evidence trying to get a lead Smith also has to concentrate on his personal life, which he managed to screw up momentously in the last book.

With the bodies starting to build up the team, with an interesting new member, slowly work everything out, but Smith has other ideas and is forced to yet again work on his own, leading to potentially disastrous circumstances for those around him.

Overall this is yet another amazing book by Stewart, which had me hooked and guessing all the way through again.

About the Author

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye will be published in February 2020.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.