#Blogtour Murder in the mine by Roy Lewis. @books_n_all @joffebooks #teamjoffe #InspectorCrow

Today I am opening the blog tour for Roy Lewis’ latest re-release. This is book 5 in Roy’s Inspector Crow series and was published by Joffe Books on the 27th January 2019.

About the Book

Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer?

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish.

THIS BOOK WAS ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS “A QUESTION OF DEGREE.”

“Roy Lewis can always be counted on for precise, original, interesting environment…yet his characters and settings always interact.” Financial Times

A hunt for a missing dog leads to a gruesome discovery down a mineshaft.

Not just the injured dog, but a valuable piece of jewellery . . . and the decaying corpse of a woman.

Detective John Crow is called in to run the investigation inthis South Wales mining community. He discovers flaws inthe dog owner’s account and a visit to the north east of England reveals the dead woman’s identity.

Then there is a surprise confession. But the skeletal Inspector Crow is not convinced, and he pursues theinvestigation into the dead woman’s complicated life. New suspects emerge.

But as Crow closes in on the killer, complicated questions remain. Full of intrigue, this mystery will have the reader guessing until the very end.

Set in England in the late early 70s, this is the fifth book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

HE DETECTIVE

Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murdercases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

INSPECTOR CROW BOOKS

Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY

Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT

Book 3: THE WOODS MURDER

Book 4: MURDER FOR MONEY

Book 5: MURDER IN THE MINE

MORE COMING SOON!

My Review

This is a re-release of Roy’s book ‘A Question of Degree’ which was originally published back in the dark ages of Forensic investigation (1974) which makes it, at times, a bit slow going but also means that the Inspector has to work that much harder to find out what happened and by whom.

As this is book 5 in the series it really helps if you have read the previous books to get the back story behind Inspector Crow and his team and to find out the dynamics of the entire team.

This book starts with someone finding a dead body down a mineshaft and the local police being baffled.

This leads to Inspector Crow being brought in to investigate in a purely consulting and assisting role, which annoys him quite a bit.

The story has loads of twists and surprises throughout, which makes it a great read, although it is definitely showing it’s age with some of the comments and generalisations. These don’t take away from the story as long as you remember it is set, and was written, back in the 1970’s.

Overall this was a good read, which kept me hooked and guessing throughout.

About the Author

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

Advertisements

One thought on “#Blogtour Murder in the mine by Roy Lewis. @books_n_all @joffebooks #teamjoffe #InspectorCrow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.