#BlogTour Missing Lies by Chris Collett @crimecrow @joffebooks @books_n_all #Teamjoffe #DIMariner

Today I am very excited to be closing the blog tour for Chris Collett’s latest DI Mariner book Missing Lies, which was published by Joffe Books on the 28th October 2018.

About the Book

thumbnail_Missing Lies cover

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this mystery with a huge twist at the end.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DEAD OF NIGHT.”

18-year-old Grace Clifton vanishes on her way home from work.Amazingly, not a single witness comes forward. But Detective Tom Mariner suspects that she ran away from her overbearing and rich father.

A package arrives addressed to DI Mariner. It contains Grace’s clothes, neatly folded and cleaned.

Then another woman disappears. And a disturbing pattern begins to emerge.

Detective Mariner must track down a suspected serial killer in his toughest, and strangest, case yet, with a conclusion that will have you gasping.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the seventh book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

What people are saying about MISSING LIES

“A strong pace and multidimensional characters keep this British procedural moving briskly” (Library Journal)

“Cleverly plotted, with an unexpected shock ending, plenty of suspense, and a likably genuine cast of characters, this is a strong new entry in an increasingly popular police-procedural series.” (Booklist)

“Procedural fans are in for a really good time.” (Publishers Weekly)

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DEAD OF NIGHT.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Book 7: Missing Lies

My Review

Even though this is book 7 in the series it is possible, although not advised, to read this book as a standalone.

I have read most of the previous books in this series, except Deadly Lies, and this book is just as good, if not better, than the other ones.

This time Mariner is acting DCI and half his team have left to either go on Maternity leave or to join another team, leaving Mariner short-staffed but with a serial killer on the loose.

The book starts off slowly with a lot of scene setting but once the body count rises so does the action.

The story starts off with an 18 year old going missing and it is assumed she has just run off to get away from her father, until her clothes are delivered washed and ironed to DCI Mariner.  A couple of days later the clothes of another woman appear, leading the team to start searching for the bodies and the killer.

There appears to be nothing linking the murders and as they struggle to piece everything together the bodies turn up.

From here it is a race against the killer to try and catch him before he kills again, but there are so many red herrings that it is really hard to work out who the killer was whilst reading the book.

Overall the book was a brilliant read, which kept me guessing throughout, although I did have an inkling about who the murderer was.

To purchase the book click here

About the Author

thumbnail_Chris Collett author photo jpg

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.

Links
Website:  www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter: @crime_crow

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.