#BlogTour The Woods Murder by Roy Lewis @joffebooks @books_n_all #Teamjoffe #DICrow

Today I am very excited to be opening the blog tour for Roy Lewis’ latest re-release through Joffe Books The Woods Murder.  The book was originally published back in the 1960’s but Joffe have brought it up to date with a brand new cover.

About the book

thumbnail_The Woods Murder

Woods Murder by Roy Lewis

Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer?

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish.

THIS BOOK WAS ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS “A SECRET SINGING.”

Nine-year-old Jenny Carson is brutally murdered in Kenton Wood on her way from school.

Then Charles Lendon is found stabbed to death with a skewer through his heart. He was a ruthless lawyer and something of a womaniser. Jenny’s father blamed him for her murder.

As the local police struggle, Inspector Crow is called in. Can he connect the two killings?

He discovers that several of those closest to Charles Lendon had good reason to hate him: his housekeeper lover, her unstable brother, even the boyfriend of his attractive young colleague Cathy Tennant.

This fast-paced mystery will have you enthralled from the start. Set in England in the late 1960s, this is the third book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph

THE DETECTIVE
Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

INSPECTOR CROW BOOKS
Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY
Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT
Book 3: THE WOODS MURDER

About the book

This is the third book in the DI Crow series, and as such you should really read the first two to get to know the man behind the face as it were.

As with the previous books this one is set back in the dark ages of forensics and police investigations where the police had to do a lot more door knocking instead of relying on science.

There are also a lack of any modern technology in this book, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing as it does rely on the police force doing a lot more digging around and actually talking to suspects and witnesses.

As with the previous two books this one is a very nice straight forward who-dunnit mystery with the reader learning everything at the same time as the Inspector himself, although there are some little nuggets of information we know that the DI doesn’t, but not enough for me to work out who did it.

Overall I thought the book was a very good read for it’s time, although in places it did come across a bit dated.  If you are looking for a nostalgic crime/mystery book then I would recommend this book as it was quite an enjoyable read.

To purchase the book click here

About the Author

author photo1559228629159995029..jpg

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogTour The Woods Murder by Roy Lewis @joffebooks @books_n_all #Teamjoffe #DICrow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.