#BlogTour A Lover Too Many by Roy Lewis @books_n_all @joffebooks #TeamJoffe

Today I am happy to closing the Blog Tour down for a new to Joffe Books author – Roy Lewis and his book A Lover Too Many.

About the Book

thumbnail_A lover too many coverthumbnail_A lover too many blog tour bannerthumbnail_A lover too many blog tour banner.jpg

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing.
 
“Builds up to a good climax and keeps you reading.” The Observer
 
Peter Marlin’s wife is found strangled and he becomes the prime suspect. She’d only just returned from an unexplained absence of several months. And during that time, Peter had found a new lover. Everything points to the husband but there’s no real proof.
 
Inspector John Crow is called in to help the local police. But his new colleagues aren’t keen on an outsider. And Crow must solve the case before anyone else dies.
 
This fast-paced mystery will have you gripped from start to finish. Set in England in the late 1960s, this is the first book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.
 
DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER
 
Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.
 
Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.
 
PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES
 
Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times
 
“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times
 
“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian
 
“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement
 
Tightly written, well paced and relentlessly accurate” Oxford Times
 
“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph
 
THE DETECTIVE
Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

My Review

I love it when new authors come along and Joffe have signed up someone with a massive back catalogue, Roy Lewis, so expect lots more reviews from me regarding him and his books.

This book is different from the usual Joffe books as it is set in the 60’s, a time before forensics, DNA and the technology police use today, so takes things back to basics.

The language and issues in this book took some getting used to as the use of language and people’s attitudes have changed so much in the 50 years since this book is set and originally written.  Once I got my head into what the book was about it was an enjoyable read, although a bit slow in places for my liking.

The book starts off with a woman’s body being found and the police discovering she was strangled.  The main suspect is obviously her husband, as he has left her and is in a relationship with another woman, something that was frowned upon back in the 60’s apparently.

Whilst the police are investigating the case they come upon lots of other suspects, along with blackmail and greed, so have to slowly rule everyone out the old fashioned way.

Although the book was slow in places it was still a nice read, and I will definitely be reading the next in the series once it is re-published.

To purchase the book click here

About the Author

thumbnail_Author photo

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogTour A Lover Too Many by Roy Lewis @books_n_all @joffebooks #TeamJoffe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.