#BlogTour Ladybird by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @books_n_all #DSSmith

Today I am very pleased to be on the Blog Tour for the re-release of Stewart Giles’ Book 3 in the DS Smith Series, Ladybird.  The book is self-published and was released on the 29th October 2014 but has been repackaged and edited slightly for the re-release this week.

About the Book


Ladybird (DS Jason Smith #3) by Stewart Giles



If you like Police Procedurals, then this is a series you won’t want to miss.


York is a historic walled city in North Yorkshire, England.

At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination.


DS Jason Smith is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things and that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures.

DS Thompson is of the same rank as Jason, but he doesn’t have the same support or success. He and Jason have a love/hate relationship which brings a bit of humour to the series. Thompson is old school and thinks his age should give him respect and privileges, but life doesn’t work that way for him.

DC Erica Witton is Jason’s preferred partner they work well together and share a bond. She isn’t always appreciated by Jason, but they care about each other and that brings a different dimension to the series.

What readers are saying about Ladybird:




Book 0.5 – Phobia

Book 1 – Smith

Book 2 – Boomerang

Book 3 – Ladybird

Book 4 – Occam’s Razor

Book 5 – Harlequin

Book 6 – Selene

Book 7 – Horsemen

Book 8 – Unworthy


Book 1 – The Beekeeper

Book 2 – The Perfect Murder

Book 3 – The Backpacker

My Review

This is book 3 in the series, and although it can be read as a standalone due to being drip fed the information about the previous two books, I would highly recommend reading books 1 and 2 first so you get to know DS Smith’s back story and what he has gone through over the last couple of years.

This book follows on about 6 weeks after book 2 with Smtih on sick leave after what happened to his girlfriend at the end of Boomerang.

He is deciding what to do with his life when he gets a phone call from the Ghoul, his friend in forensics who has been arrested for the murder of one of his tenants.  This convinces Smith that he is better off staying in the police force so he can investigate the murder.

The only strange thing about the murder is that the body had dead ladybirds scattered around it.

Shortly after this murder another one occurs with the same MO and another couple shortly afterwards, but nothing appears to link any of the people.

In order to investigate this further they enlist the help of an entomologist they find online called Dr Karen Wood, who hits it off with Smith instantly, even turning up at his house one morning with breakfast.

DC Witton doesn’t trust her and warns Smith to be wary of her.  He ignores her and puts it down to jealousy, but Witton’s instincts are proved correct as we find out Dr Wood isn’t what or who she appears to be.

The book is a brilliant story, which kept me guessing all the way through as to the link between the victims and also who the killer was and why they were using ladybirds at the scene.

To purchase the book click here

About the Author

thumbnail_SG Author photo (4)

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live. After Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later. 3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor Cornwall series. The Beekeeper hit the shelves and hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. The third in the series, The Backpacker I have self-published and is now available.

Links Website: http://www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


You can join the Stewart Giles reader club by completing this form https://mailchi.mp/a64f6de4c541/sgreadersclub

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour Ladybird by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @books_n_all #DSSmith

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.