#BlogTour The Backpacker by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @books_n_all

Today I am very excited to be closing the blog tour for The Backpacker by Stewart Giles, which was published 29th July 2018

About the Book

thumbnail_The Backpacker cover idea 3

From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new detective story set on the Cornish coast. Where the pretty villages and towns hold some very dark secrets.


A girl’s body is found hidden in a remote spot of a Cornish Farm. The same farm that a young girl ran towards to escape her pursuer many years before.  Detective Harriet Taylor has to abandon her day out to investigate.

As Littlemore and the forensics team get to work they uncover another mystery hidden among the rocks.

Who would kill a young backpacker who hurt nobody?  Is there a link between this and a mystery from many years ago?

As Harriet and the team get to work they find more questions than answers.  What secrets is the sleepy Cornish village hiding?

This is a fast-paced page-turner that has so many twists and turns it keeps the reader guessing right up to the shocking end.


If you like Police Procedurals, then this is a series you won’t want to miss.


Trotterdown and the surrounding villages is a fictional village in Cornwall.  It is typical of Cornish villages with remote farms and sleepy Cornish stone cottages.  However, the area is steeped in history and the residents of the quaint cottages have their share of myths and secrets making it the ideal setting for this series.


DC Harriet Taylor had only been married for 2 years when her philandering husband was killed in a car crash.  It is common knowledge around the station that the woman who died next to him was his latest lover.  Harriet transferred to Trotterdown to escape the gossip and sympathetic looks.  She is now finding her way around Cornwall and getting to know the other members of the team.


Book 1

The Beekeeper

Book 2

The Perfect Murder

Book 3

The Backpacker


Book 0.5


Book 1


Book 2


Book 3


Book 4

Occam’s Razor

Book 5


Book 6


Book 7


Book 8


My Review

This is the third book in the series I have read and I have loved all of them.

The main difference between this one and the previous two is that this one seems to be taking itself a lot more seriously than the previous two, although not as serious as police books I have read recently.

The book starts off with a body being found at the edge of a farm so Harriet and her team go to investigate it.  Whilst there they discover another body, which has been there for a number of years.

The story concerns two separate timelines decades apart but both linked to the mystery of who killed both people.

Even though this didn’t have the dark humour of the previous books it was still a brilliant read and I really liked the way it cut between different periods in time throughout.  This was made easier by the fact that the year was written at the top of the chapter when going back to the 1990’s.

The story flowed really well throughout and I was left guessing and second guessing myself whilst reading to try and figure out the link and who the murderer was before the big reveal.  When the big reveal did arrive I was shocked by the answers but really liked the way the story ended.  I also really hope this isn’t the last we have seen of Harriet and her team.

To purchase the book click here

Also if you are a fan of Stewart’s then You can join the Stewart Giles reader club by completing this form  https://goo.gl/forms/gtQ0gsNpzFP8WFHP2

About The Author

SG Author photo (4)#

After reading English & Drama at three different English Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling and finally ended up in South Africa, where I still live. I enjoy the serene life running a boat shop on the banks of the Vaal Dam. I came up with the DS Jason Smith idea after my wife dropped a rather large speaker on my head. Whether it was intentional still remains a mystery. Smith, thefirst in the series was finished in September 2013 and was closely followed by Boomerang and Ladybird. Occam’s Razor, Harlequin and Phobia (a series of short stories detailing Smith’s early life) were all completed in one hazy 365 days and Selene was done and dusted a few months later.


Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour The Backpacker by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @books_n_all

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.