#Blogtour Their Last Words by Steve Parker @mrparkerspen @books_n_all @joffebooks

Today I am very excited to be closing the blog tour for Steve Parker’s new book Their Last Words.  This is very exciting as Steve is a new author to the Joffe Books crazy gang, which means that we have some more books from him to come.

The book was published by Joffe Books on 18th June 2018.

About the book

thumbnail_THEIR LAST WORDS

Discover a crime thriller full of shocking twists by one of the most exciting new authors you’ll read this year.

A VICTIM. A MUTILATED BODY. A SINGLE WORD.

A young woman is found dead on the streets of London. Her throat slashed, her body mutilated, and one word carved into her flesh: “DON’T.”

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is assigned to the case. Young, handsome, and from a wealthy background, he’s tipped for the top. He joins a team based out of Bermondsey, South London. It’s meant to be a stepping stone to his next promotion, but this case will threaten to bring down his career and everything he thought he knew about policing.

Paterson is put in charge of the dead girl’s investigation and quickly discovers he must rely on his friend and mentor, Detective Sergeant Dave Jordan to guide him through.

THEN ANOTHER BODY IS DISCOVERED. ANOTHER WORD CUT INTO THE VICTIM’S CHEST.

The police realise they may have a depraved serial killer on their hands. The murderer is trying to send them a message carved in his victims’ bodies. But who’s the message really for?

How many more must die? Detective Paterson may be the only man who can stop this vile killer . . . if he can survive long enough.

This is the first in a series of action-packed, edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers, with an ending that will have your heart in your mouth.

Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Martina Cole.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A HEAVILY REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “THE SKY IS CRYING.”

What readers are saying about THEIR LAST WORDS

“There is also a totally unexpected twist that leaves you gasping with shock.” Maggie

Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.” Nerys

“A fast-paced, at times almost heart-stopping mystery. I couldn’t put it down.” Barbara

“The end was brilliant.” Carole

“I cannot recommend this book highly enough a true one-sitting read.” Lesley

TWO DETECTIVES WHO HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT EACH OTHER MUST WORK TOGETHER.

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is a young and (thanks to family money) wealthy womaniser, separated from his model wife and tipped to be the youngest ever commissioner of police. He knows he’s weak when it comes to practical policing and struggles to find a place among his peers, desperate to be a good policeman and not just a ‘climber’.

Detective Sergeant Johnny Clocks is a foul-mouthed, working-class officer. He grew up surrounded by rogues and villains to become a first-class thief taker with the Met police. However, his childish attitude has short-circuited his career and he spends his days antagonising as many people as he can.

Detective Sergeant Dave Jordan is an old-school copper who trusts his instincts but relies on evidence. He is typical in that his marriage has broken down and he’s been unable to form a relationship since.

THE AUTHOR
Steve Parker is a retired police officer who served for 20 years in numerous high-profiles squads.

THE SETTING
Bermondsey is an area of London nestled on the banks of the River Thames. It once had a reputation for housing more armed robbers, murderers and career criminals than anywhere else in the country. Now one of the most upmarket places to live and work in London, it has all but severed itself from its working-class roots. Home to the iconic Tower Bridge and crammed with expensive apartments, art galleries, fancy restaurants and famous residents. But for the police, those who truly know, Bermondsey never lost its roots . . . or its reputation.

My Review

As I said in my introduction Steve is a brand new author to the Joffe books catalogue, and this is the debut novel by him, originally self-published back in January last year under the title The Sky is Crying.

The book starts off with us being introduced to DSI Paterson, who is one flashy DS driving around in an Aston Martin and wearing a Rolex watch.  The first body he investigates is a horrific scene where the young lady has been murdered and mutilated in such a grotesque way that it shocks all the officers already there and also Paterson himself.

I really got into this story very quickly with the murders as they were done in such a way that you would assume it was personal, or the killer is some deranged character who will kill more and lead the police on a merry chase, so I knew I was going to be in for a good ride with Paterson as he and his little team investigate everything.

I also really liked the fact that the book is set in London, which makes a change for a Joffe book as most of them are set up North in quaint little villages and towns, instead of a major city, especially somewhere with such a rich history as Bermondsey.

As with any good book there was one or two main characters I didn’t like, namely Clocks, but his character was written in such a way that I knew I wasn’t supposed to like him until he proves himself to be a really good police officer.

This is a brilliant introduction to both Steve and the series that I can highly recommend it to everyone.  It also makes a change that I am starting a series from Book 1 as most of the time I join a series part way through.

To purchase the book click here

About the Author

thumbnail_Steve Parker author photo

I was born and raised in South East London (Peckham to be precise – cushty, my son). At the ripe old age of twenty-one, I joined the Metropolitan Police where I served for twenty years before I was pensioned out with a serious back injury. I then went to work as an enforcement officer for a local authority before taking redundancy.

Thankfully, I’ve been blessed with a complete lack of DIY skills so was legitimately able to get away with swanning around the house doing bugger all, all day long. Finding myself with plenty of spare time and a deep desire to never work for anyone again, I gave myself permission to go back to writing (I’d been writing on and off for years).

When I’m not writing, I’m out taking photographs, something I’ve done since I was a nipper and will do until the day I shuffle off this mortal coil.

I live down in the windier part of East Sussex near the sea with my long-suffering wife and my ‘off-her-nut’ cockerpoo. I have two sons of whom I am so proud, I cannot begin to tell you.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#Blogtour Their Last Words by Steve Parker @mrparkerspen @books_n_all @joffebooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.