#bookreview A Light in the Dark Ages Trilogy by Tim Walker #Abandoned #Ambrosius #Uther’sDestiny @timwalker1666

Today I am not on a blog tour so decided to write a special review for Tim Walker’s ‘Light in the Age of Darkness’ Trilogy.  The series includes the following books: Abandoned,  Ambrosius: Last of the Romans and Uther’s Destiny.


About the Books


Abandoned is an action-packed short novella (20,000 words/81 pages) that introduces the reader to A Light in the Dark Ages series. Britannia lies shocked and exposed by the sudden departure of the Roman legions in the year 410. A hero arises – Marcus Aquilius – to protect the town of Calleva from an invading Saxon army. The townsfolk must decide if their town and way of life is worth fighting for, or if they should flee to the forest and revert to a tribal lifestyle. Marcus knows he must embrace change and makes his own personal journey to emerge as Marcus Pendragon.


Britannia lies open to barbarian invasions as it slowly adjusts to life after Roman rule. Cruel high king Vortigern has seized control and chosen to employ Saxons in his mercenary army. But who is the master and who the puppet?

Enter Ambrosius Aurelianus, a Roman tribune on a secret mission to Britannia. He is returning to the land where, as a child, he witnessed the murder of his noble father and grew up under the watchful eyes of an adoptive family in the town of Calleva Atrebatum. He is thrown into the politics of the time, as tribal chiefs eye each other with suspicion whilst kept at heel by the high king.

Ambrosius finds that the influence of Rome is fast becoming a distant memory, as Britannia reverts to its Celtic tribal roots. He joins forces with his adoptive brother, Uther Pendragon, and they are guided by their shrewd father, Marcus, as he senses his destiny is to lead the Britons to a more secure future.

Ambrosius: Last of the Romans is an historical fiction novel set in the early Dark Ages, a time of myths and legends that builds to the greatest legend of all – King Arthur and his knights.

Uther’s Destiny

Fifth century Britannia is in shock at the murder of charismatic High King, Ambrosius Aurelianus, and looks to his brother and successor, Uther, to continue his work in leading the resistance to barbarian invaders. Uther’s destiny as a warrior king seems set until his world is turned on its head when his burning desire to possess the beautiful Ygerne leads to conflict. Could the fate of his kingdom hang in the balance as a consequence?

Court healer and schemer, Merlyn, sees an opportunity in Uther’s lustful obsession to fulfil the prophetic visions that guide him. He is encouraged on his mission by druids who align their desire for a return to ancient ways with his urge to protect the one destined to save the Britons from invaders and lead them to a time of peace and prosperity. Merlyn must use his wisdom and guile to thwart the machinations of an enemy intent on foiling his plans.

Meanwhile, Saxon chiefs Octa and Ælla have their own plans for seizing the island of Britannia and forging a new colony of Germanic tribes. Can Uther rise above his family problems and raise an army to oppose them?

Book three in A Light in the Dark Ages series, Uther’s Destiny is an historical fiction novel set in the Fifth Century – a time of myths and legends that builds to the greatest legend of all – King Arthur and his knights.

My Reviews


This book is the first in the series and is a nice short novella to introduce the reader to the series and how Tim writes.

The story is set shortly after the time when the Romans left Britain and when the Saxons are invading.

It follows a hero called Marcus who must help defend the city from the invading Saxons as well as trying to understand who the Romans left them.

Even though this is a short story there is a lot of action crammed into it and it does move very fast.

If you are interested in the Roman times and what happened afterwards then I can highly recommend you read this story.

To purchase this book click here


I thought this was a very good historical story following on from after the Romans left Britain and what happened afterwards to the people left behind. if you enjoy books about the Romans then you will love this.

This book is set after the first book but follows the same pattern.  This book is a full length novel and follows Ambrosius as he returns to the town where the first book was set.

This book is a brilliant read and takes you on a journey through the dark ages after the Romans have left Britain and the Country is going through a lot of changes. In reality not much is known about these times except for mythology, which Tim links brilliantly within his stories.

This story is very well written and flows along nicely introducing new characters whilst developing the story line from book one into a brilliant plot about the Britains and Romans during this mysterious time.

To purchase this book click here

Uther’s Destiny

This is the third book in the series and follows along the same theme as the previous two.

This time we follow Uther Pendrgaon after Ambrosius has been murdered and follow him as he tries to lead the resistance which his brother started.

I feel that I have to start this by saying that this Uther is not the kindly and friendly Uther that most books talk about, but a man who will stop at nothing to get what he wants, be it the defeat of his enemies or the love of a woman.

I have read many books about Uther and Merlyn but this one makes a refreshing change as it follows Uther over a number of years as he slowly enforces his power as he tries to stop and defeat the evil Saxons and banish them from the land.

This story, along with the other two, is a captivating read which I thoroughly enjoyed as I love to read stories about Uther and the Roman times.

To purchase this book click here

About the Author


Tim Walker is an independent author based in the UK.

His latest book is ‘Uther’s Destiny’ (launched in March 2018) – part three in the ‘A Light in the Dark Ages’ series.

In September 2017 he published his second book of short stories – ‘Postcards from London’.

‘Uther’s Destiny’ follows on from ‘Ambrosius: Last of the Romans’ (2017), and ‘Abandoned!’ (2015). The first two books in the series have found a wide readership since their re-launches in April 2017 with new content and covers.

Tim lives near Windsor – close to the River Thames – the inspiration for his first book of short stories, ‘Thames Valley Tales’.

His near-future thriller novel, ‘Devil Gate Dawn’, received pre-publication exposure on the Kindle Scout programme in March/April 2016, and has found a readership due to its dystopian predictions of a post-Brexit Britain beset by political turmoil under King Charles III’s rule and buckling under attacks from terrorist groups, and a portrayal of Trump America.

In early 2017 he published his first children’s book, co-authored with his daughter, Cathy – ‘The Adventures of Charly Holmes’.

Find out more at http://www.timwalkerwrites.co.uk

2 thoughts on “#bookreview A Light in the Dark Ages Trilogy by Tim Walker #Abandoned #Ambrosius #Uther’sDestiny @timwalker1666

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.