#24daysofxmas Day 19 A Town Called Christmas by Holly Martin @hollymauthor @bookouture

Today is day 19 of my #24daysofxmas feature and I am reviewing A Town Called Christmas by Holly Martin (@HollyMAuthor

The book was published by Bookouture (@bookouture) on the 19th October 2016.

About the Book

A Town Called Christmas: A perfect festive romantic read by [Martin, Holly]

Step inside a beautiful winter wonderland where love, laughter and cosy nights by the fire will make this Christmas one to remember.

Neve Whitaker loves managing the Stardust Lake hotel. She gets to work alongside her wonderful family and she’s spending Christmas on the most enchanting, snow-covered island in Scotland. So why is her heart so heavy this festive season?

It might have something to do with gorgeous Oakley Rey. He is the man she loved more than anything. But when Oakley was offered the opportunity of a lifetime – on the other side of the world – Neve had to let him go, so Oakley could follow his dreams.

But now Neve has a secret she’s struggling to keep, and when Oakley arrives on Juniper Island for Christmas she is thrown off balance. No matter how hard she tries to deny it, the old spark is still there. But can Neve let herself fall in love with Oakley again when he might not be there to stay? And will she finally get her happily-ever-after?

Get swept away by this deliciously sweet and heart-warming tale, and spend an unforgettable Christmas on Juniper Island. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Carole Matthews and Miranda Dickinson.

*This novel was previously published as Christmas Under a Starlit Sky*

Read what everyone is saying about Holly Martin:

‘This was a fun and fabulous book to curl up with under the blanket and with a fire blazing… And best of all it made me excited for Christmas!’ Escapades of a Bookworm

Full of Christmas romance and just so gorgeous – you will not be able to put this book down!’ Rather Too Fond of Books

‘It captivated me, drew me in, held me under its magical spell and left me feeling as if I’d just stepped out of a winter wonderland, the fairy-tale sort.’ Becca’s Books

‘When I started this book I felt I should be wrapped up In blanket with a roaring log fire and a mug of hot chocolate… I loved every page of it!’ The Book Review Café

Totally adorable and very entertaining… In short this is more than an entertaining romance.’ Shelly Back Books

I loved this book, I really did. I literally devoured it in one sitting… absolutely bulging at the seams with feel good factor.’ Voracious Reader

I loved everything about this book… will certainly have you looking forward to one of the most magical days of the year.’ By the Letter Book Reviews

Made my heart melt just a bit… I could not put the book down.’ Hokkerups Bogblog

This whole book is just the most perfectly adorable, squishy, fluffy, festive, romantic and wonderful story!’ Paris Baker’s Book Nook

Charming and sweet like a Christmas treat.’ For the Love of Books

‘Holly’s stories are always filled with a little bit of magic and lots and lots of strong relationships that make you all warm and fuzzy inside.’ Silke Reads and Writes

‘A “feel good” book that will keep you entertained on a miserable cold winters night.’ The Review Café

‘Holly Martin once again serves up a wonderful romance sprinkled with several laugh aloud moments and a generous offering of holiday magic!’ Kimberley’s Bookshelf

Fantastic heart-warming read that had me longing for winter evenings watching films with popcorn and cuddles.’ Afternoon Bakery

‘I very quickly lost myself in the setting of White Cliff Bay which was just so gloriously magical.’ Book Addict Shaun

‘This story is a real beauty, written in a magical and unique way. It’s a festive, beautiful and gripping feel-good read, perfect to snuggle up to on the sofa, with a lot of LOL moments and other memorable scenes.’ Sky’s Book Corner

If you loved this book, you can read more about everyone from Juniper Island in Christmas under a Cranberry Sky.

My Review

This is book 2 of the series, book one being Christmas under a Cranberry Sky, which you really need to read first as it gets a bit confusing at the start of the book if you haven’t due to the fact there is no introduction.

The book itself is a very easy read, where you can just sink into it without really have to think about much as the book is really predictable, which is kind of nice for a Christmas book.

The description of the surroundings and characters in the book was brilliant and really made the book that more realistic.

The story revolves around two couples at Christmas and is all about whether they will get together or not.  This did start to get repetitive a bit towards the end as you could work out where it was going, and some of the things that happened were a bit cringe worthy.

Apart from the above it was a nice easy read, which I did enjoy in parts.  I would give this 4 stars as it kept me engrossed and it was a very quick read.

To purchase the book click on the link below

About the author

Holly Martin

Holly lives in a little white cottage by the sea. She studied media at university which led to a very glitzy career as a hotel receptionist followed by a even more glamorous two years working in a bank. The moment that one of her colleagues received the much coveted carriage clock for fifteen years’ service was the moment when she knew she had to escape. She quit her job and returned to university to train to be a teacher. Three years later, she emerged wide eyed and terrified that she now had responsibility for the development of thirty young minds. She taught for four years and then escaped the classroom to teach history workshops, dressing up as a Viking one day and an Egyptian High Priestess the next. But the long journeys around the UK and many hours sat on the M25 gave her a lot of time to plan out her stories and she now writes full time, doing what she loves.

Holly has been writing for 8 years. She was shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romance. Her short story won the Sunlounger competition and was published in the Sunlounger anthology. She won the Carina Valentine’s competition at the Festival of Romance 2013 with her novel The Guestbook. She was shortlisted for Best Romantic Read, Best eBook and Innovation in Romantic Fiction at the Festival of Romance 2014. She is the bestselling author of 18 books

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s