#BlogTour Innocent Lies by CHRIS COLLETT

I am very pleased to have been asked to open the Blog Tour for Chris Collett’s new Book Innocent Lies.

The book is the second one in Chris’ DI Mariner series, being re-published by Joffe Books today (7th November 2017).  The first book, Deadly Lies, is available to purchase here

Blurb

Cover jpg.jpg

INNOCENT LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Do you like police procedurals with great characters and real grit?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

Two teenagers go missing on the same day. Just a coincidence?

The two young people are from very different backgrounds: Yasmin is the talented, grammar-school-educated daughter of devout Muslim professionals. Ricky disappears after storming out of his council house after an argument with his mum’s latest boyfriend.

DI Mariner knows Ricky’s mother from his days in uniform. He is furious when his superiors take him off Ricky’s case and reassign him to the more politically sensitive investigation. The press — and his bosses — are convinced that Yasmin’s disappearance is a racially motivated abduction. The Akrams have been the target of a far right group.

But Mariner soon discovers that Yasmin is far from the innocent victim her parents think she is. Can he get to the bottom of a perplexing case where no one is what they seem?

Find out the answers in this crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the second book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD OF THE INNOCENTS.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
More coming soon!

My Review

This is book 2 in the series but reads very well on it’s own, I know this I hadn’t read book one beforehand and still had no trouble following what was going on and who each character was.  It will now be interesting to go back and read book 1 to see what I have missed with regards to the back stories.

When I started reading this book I thought it was a very good read, although a bit slow moving.  I had read 25% of the book without realising it and really got into it.

The book starts with two young people going missing, one is a young boy from a council house, who is known to DI Mariner so he starts to investigate this before being taken off the case to investigate another, more high-profile, missing person case of a young Asian girl from an influential family on exactly the same day.

The story then follows the police investigating both disappearances along with some of the officers personal problems, with lots of twists and turns throughout.

All through the book I was trying to work out how the two cases could possibly be linked and I could only come up with two options, of which one was correct, but I couldn’t work out who and done it and how all the way through until the final reveal.

The book is a brilliant read which, although slow going in places, was a brilliant read, which I thoroughly enjoyed.  It is a different from the other books I have read recently as it is a much slower build up to them investigating and there doesn’t appear to be the mad rush normally associated with these types of books.

To purchase the book click below

Amazon UK

Amazon USA

Goodreads – To purchase from other sources

 

About the Author

Chris Collett - author pic

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.
Find out more at www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogTour Innocent Lies by CHRIS COLLETT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s