#BlogTour The Fourth Friend

I have been asked to close the Blog Tour for Joy Ellis’ Brand New Book The Fourth Friend with a content post regarding ten things Joy would like everyone to know about her

thumbnail_9781912106868

About the Book

THE FOURTH FRIEND by Joy Ellis

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. For each of his four friends he decides to complete a task that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

As the mysteries grow deeper, Jackman & Evans face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

THE DETECTIVES
DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

ALSO BY JOY ELLIS
THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS – You can find my blog post Here

JACKMAN & EVANS
Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON
Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND – Available from Amazon UK here

10 things I want my readers to know about me: JOY ELLIS

 

Just because I write crime thrillers, I am not a wannabe serial killer!

In my experience, crime writers are well-balanced, good-natured and friendly. So why do people raise their eyebrows and say, “I read your last book, and I’m really worried about you!”?

 

My partner Jacqueline and I were the first couple in Boston to have their civil partnership converted to a marriage.

Romantic? Not exactly. As we were the first to register, no-one knew how to operate the new software system! Two registrars battled with a computer that totally refused to co-operate, and it took a very long time and lot of colourful language before it finally coughed up our certificate.

 

In my thirties I was diagnosed with ME (myalgic encephalomyelitis).

But . . . when allopathic medicine couldn’t help and life in a wheelchair seemed inevitable, I found support through friends and therapists and defied the odds by making a full recovery after fifteen years of misery. Now I can walk, swim, play table tennis, and can tackle long walks in the Yorkshire Moors.

 

I love painting.

Stuck for something to suggest for a birthday present, I said, ‘Art Classes!’ And it was something of a shock when I discovered that I had a real talent for pastel painting. I have had many commissions since, mainly for pet portraits, and that taught me that it’s never too late to discover a new passion.

 

I still have a full motorcycle licence!

I love motorbikes! If I didn’t have dodgy knees I’d get one tomorrow. I rode a gorgeous Suzuki GT bike for years, but on a windy night and crossing a motorway bridge, I got blown off! That was bad enough but after I managed to haul the heavy bike off the road, the wind was too strong to get back on!

 

Our Springer spaniels are our number one priority.

Jacquie and I have no close relations, so our dogs are our ‘family’. Our present boys, litter brothers Woody and Alfie, are working Springers, but when asked if they are trained to the gun, our reply is always, “No, just trained to the sofa!”

 

Life is never dull living with an accident-prone retired copper!

Yes, Jacquie has fallen off ladders, walls, out of trees, been bowled over by the dog, gone top to bottom of a fire-escape, and in a deep gorge in Yorkshire, fell down a rocky incline and into a fast-flowing beck! No chance of an air ambulance there!

 

My writing inspiration?

I have written stories since childhood, but the determination to become a published author came from the wonderful late Sue Townsend and a writer’s course on the remote Greek island of Skyros. A magical fortnight, and the magic still lives on.

 

My love of flowers.

I was an apprentice to the legendary Constance Spry Flower shop in Mayfair in the swinging 60s, and what a time that was! I went from apprentice to running my own shop in Weybridge, then lost everything in the recession. Hey-ho, said Pooh, that’s life!

 

JOY ELLIS IS THE AUTHOR OF THE BEST-SELLING FENS SERIES. HER LATEST DI JACKMAN BOOK, “THE FOURTH FRIEND” IS RELEASED BY JOFFE BOOKS ON WEDNESDAY 30th AUGUST ON AMAZON IN PAPERBACK AND EBOOK.

AUTHOR BIO

thumbnail_Joy+and+the+boys+039+(1)

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our two second generation Springer spaniels. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I can, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; my choice of genre was suddenly clear. I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!”

 

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour The Fourth Friend

Leave a Reply

