#AudioReview & Competition Time

This week is Audio Week for Orenda Books and I am pleased to be included on their tour with Rupture by Ragnar Jonasson.


About the Audio Book

1955. Two young couples move to the uninhabited, isolated fjord of Hedinsfjörður. Their stay ends abruptly when one of the women meets her death in mysterious circumstances. The case is never solved. Fifty years later an old photograph comes to light, and it becomes clear that the couples may not have been alone on the fjord after all…

In nearby Siglufjörður, young policeman Ari Thór tries to piece together what really happened that fateful night, in a town where no one wants to know, where secrets are a way of life. He’s assisted by Ísrún, a news reporter in Reykjavik who is investigating an increasingly chilling case of her own. Things take a sinsister turn when a child goes missing in broad daylight. With a stalker on the loose, and the town of Siglufjörður in quarantine, the past might just come back to haunt them.

Haunting, frightening and complex, Rupture is a dark and atmospheric thriller from one of Iceland’s foremost crime writers.


My Review

This book is actually Book 4 of his Dark Iceland series, which all follow Ari Thór throughout.  Even though this is book 4 I have never read any of the other books (although that will now be rectified) and I had no trouble following the storyline and you don’t need to have read the other three to get any back story.

The book is split into three separate stories, which, although seem unrelated, all link up nicely at the end of the book in a realistic way.

The story is really well written and the author brings the area to life, making it easy to immerse yourself in the story and almost making it seem like you are there in Iceland yourself.  I am now off to listen to the first three books in the series.

The audio book was read very nicely and definitely brought the book to life in a way that just reading it would not.

To purchase the audio book please click here and you can also listen to an audio clip.

Or if you would like the chance to win a copy of the audio book I have two available to win.  All you need to do is follow my blog and write a comment at the end of this review.  I have two available and they  will be picked by a random number generator.

About the Author

Image result

Ragnar Jonasson is the award winning author of the international bestselling Dark Iceland series.

His debut Snowblind, first in the Dark Iceland series, went to number one in the Amazon Kindle charts shortly after publication. The book was also a no. 1 Amazon Kindle bestseller in Australia.

The second book in the series, Nightblind, also became a no. 1 Amazon Kindle bestseller in Australia.

Ragnar is the winner of the Mörda Dead Good Reader Award 2016 for Nightblind.

Snowblind was selected by The Independent as one of the best crime novels of 2015 in the UK and it has also been on best seller lists in France.

Rights to the Dark Iceland series have been sold to 14 countries.

TV rights to the series have been sold to production company On the Corner in the UK, producers of Academy Award winning documentary Amy.

Ragnar was born in Reykjavik, Iceland, where he works as a writer and a lawyer. He also teaches copyright law at Reykjavik University and has previously worked on radio and television, including as a TV-news reporter for the Icelandic National Broadcasting Service.

Ragnar is a member of the UK Crime Writers’ Association (CWA).

He is also the co-founder of the Reykjavik international crime writing festival Iceland Noir.

From the age of 17, Ragnar translated 14 Agatha Christie novels into Icelandic.

Ragnar has also had short stories published internationally, including in the distinguished Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine in the US, the first stories by an Icelandic author in that magazine.

He has appeared on festival panels worldwide, and lives in Reykjavik.


Fölsk nóta, 2009

Snjóblinda, 2010

Myrknætti, 2011

Rof, 2012

Andköf, 2013

Náttblinda, 2014

Dimma, 2015

Drungi, 2016

Death of a Sunflower, 2014, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, January 2014.
Party of Two, 2014, Guilty Parties – CWA 2014 Anthology edited by Martin Edwards (Seven House)
A Moment by the Sea, 2014, Orendabooks.co.uk
A Letter to Santa, 2015, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, January 2015


One thought on “#AudioReview & Competition Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.