#Blogtour Buried on the Fens by Joy Ellis

Thank you Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for inviting me to Open the Blog Tour of Joy Ellis’s book Buried on the Fens, which is the 7th Book in her Nikki Galena series of books.

Th book was published by Joffe books and published on the 3rd July 2017

Blurb

Autumn sunset.

BURIED ON THE FENS by Joy Ellis

A SKELETON IS UNEARTHED FROM A SHALLOW GRAVE IN THE CHURCHYARD. BUT THIS WAS NOT AN OFFICIAL BURIAL. THE VICTIM WAS MURDERED DECADES AGO.

At the same time, Detective Nikki Galena and her team are investigating the brutal slaying of local businesswoman Madeline Prospero. She was a member of an exclusive and secretive drinking club called The Briar Patch. But they’ve got no suspects and no one is telling them the truth.

Meanwhile, the buried skeleton leads them on a trail to the village of Quintin Eaudyke. This is a troubled place. In the late seventies and eighties a reign of terror and abuse was unleashed on the close-knit population.

When more women from the The Briar Patch come under threat, Nikki faces a race against time to stop the killing.
Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the heart-stopping ending.

THE DETECTIVE
DI Nikki Galena: A police detective with nothing left to lose, she’s seen a girl die in her arms and her own family destroyed. She’s tough on criminals but fiercely loyal to her team.

HER PARTNER 
DS Joseph Easter is the squeaky-clean new member of the team. But his nickname “Holy Joe” belies his former life as a soldier. He has a daughter and an ex-wife who wants his attention.

THE SETTING 
The Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote Fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you’ve ever seen.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES NOW

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS

My Review

This is the first one of Joy’s books I have read. Although the book does work very well on it’s own, if you have read the other 6 it would be a still advantage I would imagine.

The book has two story lines which look separate to start with merge perfectly towards the end, with one suspect, but they don’t know his name or what he now looks like.

The book was full of suspense and tension throughout, which made it a very enjoyable read.  Joy is now one of my new favourite authors and I will be going through her back catalogue to read more about Nikki Galena and her team.

Overall this was a very good read and I give it 4 stars.

To purchase the book for yourself click on the below links

Amazon UK

Amazon USA

About the Author

 

Joy Ellis grew up in Kent but moved to London when she won an apprenticeship with the prestigious Mayfair flower shop, Constance Spry Ltd. 
Many years later, having run her own florist shop in Weybridge, Ellis took part in a writer’s workshop in Greece and was encouraged by her tutor, Sue Townsend to begin writing seriously. She now lives in the Lincolnshire Fens with her partner Jacqueline and their Springer spaniels, Woody and Alfie.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “#Blogtour Buried on the Fens by Joy Ellis

  1. I like the sound of the setting for this novel. The Fens have a very strong, brooding quality. I remember when I visted the Bronze Age settlement at Flag Fen I was aware of a deep, powerful atmosphere, complex and mournful and full of other emotional resonances too. An ideal location for a crime thriller.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s